Google Hangouts is a great application for online meetings, video conferencing, and chats, but sometimes, for various reasons, it happens that we need to block a certain user. and maybe not one. Google Hangouts is closely related to some other Google applications, so if you block a user on one of them, he will also be blocked on the rest. In this article, we will explain in detail how to block a user in Hangouts.
How to block in Google Hangouts Mobile
If you have Hangouts on Android or iOS, you need to be aware that you can block everyone who harasses you or creates problems. The guidelines are the same for both iOS and Android devices:
- Run the Hangouts app on your cellular device
- Open the Hangouts chat window
- Choose “More” in the top right hand corner of the screen
- Then tap “People.”
- Pick the contact you wish to block, and click Block User
- Finally, validate your move by blocking
How to block Google Hangouts on a website
You can block users on the Google Hangouts website from any web browser on your PC. Just follow the steps to block people:
- Open the Google Hangouts. web page and sign in
- You’ll be taken to the Conversations tab. Choose the person you want to Block from the conversation partner list
- Then select the Settings option while in a conversation with that person
- Select Block or Report him or her
- If you prefer, you can also select the Report checkbox if you think the person you’re speaking to has gone too far
- Confirm your choice
Blocking Google Hangouts 101
Before you know how to block someone on Hangouts, you need to figure out how it functions. For one thing, you won’t be able to get calls or texts from the blocking person. Not only will he or she be blocked in Google Hangouts, but also in Google Chat, Google Voice, and Google Photos.
If you decide to unblock someone, you also unblock them in other services. You would also not be allowed to send messages or make calls to the blocked person. The calls and texts will be accessible in other texting apps as well as via regular phone calls.
You can block a person in a Google Hangouts Group Chat. This will not, however, delete him or her from the chat. Nobody in the group chat will be informed that you are blocking someone. You will not be notified of your posts in the group, but those will see yours. The other people won’t be impacted; they’ll continue to be able to see all of the texts.
And even if you blocked someone though, you can still connect to your group’s text chats. If they attempt to join a video group chat, they cannot do so. Also, they’ ll get a notification that somebody in the discussion has blocked them.